Stop Killing my Music

Sunday morning, one out of the two days of a week where alarms music wakes me up. And today it was I miss you who did the job of waking me happily up. It’s such a nice song and I really don’t worry about not knowing the Artist of that tune or the Album either. The day has just begun. The music goes wild and with time its gets wilder, both in my room and in my heart. “I show a great partality for my regional music”, Well,  I dont agree but thats what people around me say. Not even in my vague memory had my mamma or papa asked why I don’t listen to regional music, but our servant maid did, today. I felt no new to that question for the fact that I have had answered it million times in the past with million different answers 😆 As my task list was blank for the day I connected to the web to figure out the history of the music that woke me. It is from Blink 182, a United States Alternative Rock Music breed. Got no clue on what this United States Alternative Rock means ;). Neither have I a clue on how that music came to my PC. All I know is I how much I’m attracted to that piece of tune. I continued to browse the web while the question that the servant maid asked me was constantly running in my head.  Thus far I had never asked that question to myself, but today, someone was asking from within. Yes, I was asking myself, “Why I’m I not listing to my regional music?” As I started to wonder the Why factor, so came this write up.

Music should not be created under compeltion. Music should be created for selling. It is much more than a commercial product. It is an ART.  And the creators will always fail, if they intent to create a music exclusively for business purpose. At least they would fail to astonish me. Oh, I forgot to say this, Music should not be copied (biggest of all).

Having said my vision on Music, today’s objective in Bollywood and Kollywood music industries is to create a false impression. And why I say that is because I firmly believe that they create it under completion and they also copy sometimes. So why is this happening? Let me explain what I feel.

 More films are created and the business units of the film making company wants at least five songs in every of their film. Moreover, Musicians are forced to create their piece since the situation, the story, the mood and the characters are already decided. Can you find fault in the masterpieces created by the legendary Michael Jackson? It is Michael who decides his music. He is not been compelled to create anything. He does it because he loves to do it. More than that, the other ingredients like the situation, the story and the rest of all are based on the music unlike my regional music where every this is vice-versa. Shame. And what are they going to do by creating music under compeltion? They are going to sell it.

And thus my wondering came to an end. Now I know why I don’t listen to Bollywood and Kollywood songs.

Freddie Maize

9 Responses

  1. Hi

    I read this post of yours, and I could not help but think that it’s very unfair of you to marginalize your own country/region like this… Music doesn’t have a language. And frankly, regional music is not just film music. Even in our film music, there is a plethora of priceless gems available. I have no idea what standards of measurement you use to make such a sweeping generalization of Indian music. But I will agree with one thing, music is completely an individual’s taste.
    So, what do you consider your favorite musical composition/ song of all time?

    • Thanks for stopping by.

      >>regional music is not just film music
      But I have only mentioned about the film music and not the entire of my region music.

      >>I have no idea what standards of measurement you use to make such a sweeping generalization of Indian music.
      Again, I have not generalized. It’s only about the film music which I feel is been corrupted.

      >>So, what do you consider your favorite musical composition/ song of all time?
      Though I cannot fully answer this I would say a liitle,
      I like MJ. Also, I like the music that was created before 90’s (film music especially).

      The whole of the post points to the *present Indian film music industry*. Hope I have given a valid answer

      • Do you think ARR is not a good composer? That, my friend, would be blasphemy to a true fan. 🙂 But though I admire the man, I wouldn’t take offense at your opinion.
        Another point I found glaring in your post was that you have compared present Indian film music to MJ, a man who’s golden age was the 80’s. Now, isn’t that a tad unfair? Why don’t you do your comparing with the current crop of music makers in the Western world? There’s no dearth of them, I would hope!

      • >>Do you think ARR is not a good composer?

        He is definitely a good composer. I do not doubt his talents. There are many others who are good. But the only thing I ask them is to, not compose music just for money. Because when you do it you will end up messing the music and thats when I call “Music is getting corrupted”.

        >>compared present Indian film music to MJ

        Okay, MJ was quoted as an example. All I pleed them is to create music with a good intention as that of Michael’s (To my knowledge, Michael did not create music for money) and not just for money. Music is an Art. Let’s not us it jsut for making money.

        I appricate your interest and opinions though 🙂 Thanks 🙂

        @boopalanj,
        Hey Boo, Thanks for coming :). Here is where -;)

      • Again, I am amazed that you can judge the quality of music by the intentions with which it was created. That definitely doesn’t matter. And as a matter of fact, why do you think MJ got into the music industry? And why do you think he’s playing the O2 in London this summer? For charity? No dude, it’s the money too.
        Any musician, any artist, for that sake, creates because they love their art. But when money is a part of the deal, very few say no to the money and yes to creativity. That is true of any musician (including MJ) who has a contract with a major music label. Only players with independent labels even after they attain fame are the people who create selflessly, as you define.
        Frankly speaking, the money someone makes shouldn’t be the measure of creativity. And since you claim Jackson made music with good intentions, I wonder how much you actually know of his personal history?
        Oh, and forgive me for rambling on about this subject. Music is something of a passion with me, both Indian and Western, and it’s something I have to speak up for.

      • >>I am amazed that you can judge the quality of music by the intentions with which it was created. That definitely doesn’t matter
        Let me clear it out. My view is this,
        Create music and then you sell it (selling it is one way of value creation to it), make your money, do whatever, whatever means whatever, Even buy 10 such Neverland Vallies. But don’t create music because you want 10 Neverland Vallies. Above all, anything that we do (not just music) we should have good intention for only then it would stand tall.

        >> And why do you think he’s playing the O2 in London this summer? For charity? No dude, it’s the money too.
        May be. But there (in that stage), he is definitly not creating music but re-creating. Ofcourse I believe he would created it (the first time) with money not in his mind

        >>Any musician, any artist, for that sake, creates because they love their art
        I do agree (not fully though). But pleaase try to understand the fact that there are musicians who create music for money. There is only one ARR you have heard off. There are other poeple in this industry who (according to me) know very little about music and they just do crab work. And people who produce crab movies don’t have enough money and they hire some stupids to compose music for their film just becuase they can hire him (that stupid) for less money. All the producer want is, 5 songs in their movie irrespetive of the music be a hit or a flop. They are doing injustice. I hated it. And so I worte this.

        >>I wonder how much you actually know of his personal history?
        Good Question. Tough to defend myself :(.
        You never know what the other person thinks. (Even) We can’t read the minds of our beloved ones. But atleast we can guess (not blindly though). I guess he has good intention (atleast towards music creation). And just a note, I have read his bio and auto biography (though this is not a good point to defend myself from your question -;) I know) and strongly feel that I have guessed the man correctly.

        >>Music is something of a passion with me, both Indian and Western, and it’s something I have to speak up for.
        You should. I like this discussion and I cretainly believe that we are adding some healthy points towards it.

        >>Oh, and forgive me for rambling on about this subject
        Never mind friend. I understand what you feel.

  2. Here too?
    Good friend..!! 😀

  3. Its 28th June. Many many more happy returns of the day – labaji.
    Dont feel too much for MJ’s death and enjoy the day. You have realised and enjoyed his music very well, i know that. He is truly a king of pop.

    Arjun

    • Hi Anna, Thanks for stopping by. Yes he is. MJ is THE King of POP for ever.

      Love MJ
      Freddie

Leave a Reply

